India - Pakistan Blind Cricket series


India - Pakistan Blind Cricket series 

This tournament was held: 10 to 17 March 2012.

Cricket for the blind is an absolute obsession. Sheer grit and determination are beautifully displayed in a magnificent game where the blind overcome the debilitating challenges of life and channel it through cricket. It is an arena where the visually impaired can prove their mettle and follow their dreams, embrace postivety and enrich their lives and live on their own terms and play cricket.

India has always been extremely warm and gracious host. The warmth and hospitality extends from the players, the blind cricket body and the public. The games are closely contested and evenly fought between two well – balanced sides in the past and this time it should not be an exception. The series is also bound to get wide coverage in India in print and electronic media. The event will certainly bolster the image of India, people of India, blind cricket and blind cricketers in this age of expanded media drive. We believe this is bound to generate a positive impact on India – Pakistan peaceful bilateral and business relations.

India wins Indo Pak Bilateral Blind Cricket Series

Match Highlights

Shekar Naik, captain of India won toss and elected to field. Pakistan started well - adding 99 to 1st wicket by Mohammed Akran and Yasir. Then,  Kethan stuck for India;  wickets started falling at regular intervals. India were successful in restricting Pakistan to paltry 229 in 32 overs. For India, Kethan was the most successful bowler with 5 wickets by giving 47 runs of 8 overs.

In reply India started with Praksah and Ajay Reddy. Ajaya was dismissed for 31/44 balls with 4x4 when the score was 126. Prakash put his best bat of 130 runs of 92 balls with 12 fours and 1 six and remained not out. He was joined by Kethan who scored useful 30. Together they brought India yet another successful victory in 26 overs. Thus, beating Pakistan by 9 wickets with 14 overs to spare.

Kethan was declared man of the match

T- 20 Man of the series
Ketan Patel- B-1 India for his outstanding performance
Prakash- B-2 (India)
Mohammed Jhameel

ODI Man of the series
Ketan Patel B-2 India
Prakash B-2 India
Ajay Reddy B-3 India

Actor Vishal and TA Sekar commended the efforts of the organizers and lauded the talent of visually impaired cricketers. Both assured their involvement for the forthcoming T-20 world cup.

In the three T– 20 Internationals, India won 2 and Pakistan 1 and thus India won the T-20 Series.

In the three One Day International, India won the first and the third one day match while Pakistan the second  thus India won the One day Series  which was  played at SPIC YMCA.

The bilateral series has set a positive stage for the forthcoming World Cup scheduled in December 2012 at Bangalore. Ten countries - Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Nepal would be taking part in this event. This is the first international cricket tournament for the blind involving several countries after a long gap (almost 6 years).

The Winners of both T- 20 and One day series were given a cash prize of Rs. 30,000/- each.  The price distribution was graced by Kollywood Actor & CCL Chennai Rhinos Captain Vishal along with former Test Cricketer TA. Sekar and other dignitaries.